About Me

My photo
Nashville, TN, United States
I am a mom to amazing twin girls, a wife, and I work full time. I battled infertility for 2 years and over the course of treatments, a twin pregnancy, and raising twins I managed to gain about 80 lbs. I’ve lost about 50 lbs so far and would like to lose another 50 in my quest to become a hot mama.

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Diaper rash woes.

My little Harper has the WORST diaper rash I think I have ever encountered in my life.  She has been battling some kind of stomach ailment for the past 5 days which is causing her to have a BM every single diaper (I'd say about 10-12 a day).  It is just awful.  Her little butt is SO red it is actually starting to form a scab.  I have tried everything....Butt paste, Desitin, A&D, Vitamin E, plain water, letting it air dry...but nothing seems to be helping.  

Mom's-any idea what else I could try?  I am running on 2 hours of sleep today because of all of her crying last night!!!

Tuesday, March 15, 2011


What kind of person am I.  I have not written a blog since January.  Have I become that blogger that stops writing once I have kids.  I swore I wouldn't!

There are seriously not enough hours in the day.  Here is a summary of my day
5am-get up, showered, ready for work
5:30am-help DH get the girls up and changed for school
6am-finish getting ready, grab my coffee and head out the door (while DH feeds and takes the girls to school)
4pm-leave work
5:15ish-pick the girls up from daycare
5:30-get home and let the girls play
6pm: wash bottles and make more bottles and get the girls dinner ready
6:15: feed the girls dinner
6:45: try to feed myself dinner while the girls usually fuss and cry.  Retry at 7pm to eat a cold dinner
7pm: give the girls baths
7:30: Girls take a short nap.  I clean up the dinner/bath time mess
8pm: DH and I feed the girls their bed time bottles
8:30: put the girls to bed
10-11pm Pass out.  Wash. Rinse. Repeat.

It wears me out just thinking about it.

Lets see, major updates:

Sleeping: the girls now sleep in their big girl bed.  They sleep through the night and wake up around 5:30 or 6am typically.
Eating: they now eat about 7oz every 4 hours.  They also have a bowl of cereal in the morning and a fruit or veggie and cereal at night.  So far in our food arsenal we have green beans, carrots, peas (which were not well tolerated), squash, mangoes, bananas, and sweet potatoes. They LOVE their solid foods.  We have also started to practice with a sippy cup.  They haven't quite mastered it yet.
Movement: Harper has figured out that she can roll from place to place.  Stella is still not that into it.  They are scooting a little bit on their bellies but aren't close to crawling yet.  They can sit up pretty well but topple over quickly.
Things they love: Their light up toys, pulling on the dogs ears, flirting, laughing at each other, touching faces, making weird scream noises (they seriously sound like gremlins)

I am so in love with these two little girls.  I never thought it was possible to feel love like this.

As for me, I am still hanging on to about 15lbs of baby weight that I can't seem to shake.  It's pissing me off, but truth be told I have no time to work out so I am not going to beat myself up.

Work has been going well.  Sadly, I enjoy the little bit of "me" time that it provides during the day.

That is a brief synopsis of what's been going on in our Household.